My Pop Culture Tour

Posted: September 8, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

There are many aspects of popular culture present in our daily lives. We may not even be aware of it.  I know while completing this assignment for my Intro to Popular Culture class, I was surprised to see how large a role it plays in my life.  So here’s a little photo tour of my pop culture world…

image

First up, my favorite jeans, L.A. Idols. It seems everyone has sparkles on their butts these days and while I can’t afford Miss Me’s, these are just as trendy and fashionable at about half the price. I really began to notice how popular they are when I worked at a shop that sold them. These suckers fly off the shelf!
Next is my first choice for entertainment…

image

My husband’s Xbox!  We turn this on on a daily basis and not just to play video games (which I am terrible at).  We have Netflix which I watch my favorite show, the very popular Orange is the new Black, and full seasons of other shows at my leisure.  We also have Hulu, to watch tv shows that we have missed. I honestly have no idea why we continue to pay for cable.  I think watching shows online will someday make cable television obsolete.
Then there’s my biggest addiction…

image

Pinterest. Why, oh why did I ever check this website out!? I hear it all the time, “I found it on Pinterest.” And now I’m guilty of repeating that phrase over and over. I thought it sounded boring at first but as it gained popularity and more people told me to check it out, i finally succumbed to temptation. Need a recipe for dinner tonight? There you go. Want to make your own all-natural cleaning products? There’s a plethora of links to happy homemakers with blogs devoted to exactly that.  If one of my clents wants a new ‘do, its the first place I turn.
Which leads me to the last aspect I’ll discuss…

image

My career.

image

As a hairstylist I have to stay on top of the latest trends and which celebrity has the most desired hair of the moment. My career depends on knowing who my client is talking about, what their hair looks like and how to achieve it on them. Ombre, balayage, color melting,  I’ve seen these trends come and go and then come back again. It keeps me on my toes and I have to stay up to date on the look of the moment.
Popular culture is the culture of the masses and I am just one of the many consumers of what Pop Culture has to offer today.

Leave a Reply

