You’re HOW Old?

Posted: August 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

I’m quite accustomed to being carded to purchase anything that requires me to be of a certain age. I’m also used to the double take that goes hand in hand with my driver’s license. I’ve never had a picture on an ID that looks much like me. I change my hair frequently, so that throws people off. I usually look 20 pounds heavier in the picture, I look younger than I am, and my most recent license makes me look gothic. I always find it funny how apologetic some cashier’s can be when asking to see my ID but sometimes their reaction is what should really warrant an apology. My favorite instance occurred at Wal-Mart, buying some wine.
Cashier: “Can I see your ID?”

Me: Digging in the abyss of my purse…

Cashier: “I’m sorry but you look younger than 40, so I have to ask.”

Me: “That’s fine with me, I really don’t mi-“

Cashier (interrupting): “I mean you’re obviously older than me and I’m 20 but it’s just the rules so I have to card anyone under 40.”

Me: Handing over my license. “Really, it’s ok. At least I know I don’t look 40.”

Cashier (wide-eyed): “Wow! I didn’t think you were THAT old!”

“Gee. Thanks.”

I guess being closer to 40 than I am to 20 makes me “THAT” old.  I’m beginning to get used to this kind of response and being told I look really good for “my age.”  I guess I should just learn to take it as a compliment. At least I know I don’t look 40.

This idea was brought to me by The Daily Post.  Lord knows I’d have no idea what to write about on my own.

 http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/why-thank-you/

Comments
  1. LindaGHill says:

    That’s so funny. 🙂 I hope she blushed after she said that.

    Like

  2. loisajay says:

    had to be a kid who ID’d you. Amazing….

    Like

  3. […] I THINK Soul Curry n Rice Lip Out that caused the pouty lip soul n spirit Thanks from my Heart jamitiefensquiggle You’re HOW Old? Be Still and Free Your Soul. Why, Thank You? stream of consciousness WHY, THANK YOU? Burgess […]

    Like

  4. haha !! nicely put…maybe ten yrs later you could meet her and ask her how she feels like being ‘that old ! ‘ ( closer to 4o that is…:) )

    Like

Leave a Reply

